Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions - Archive
  NTK Oxy Sensors SUCK, Does your 4.9 Run Rich or any motor.

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

NTK Oxy Sensors SUCK, Does your 4.9 Run Rich or any motor. by Capt Fiero
Started on: 10-06-2005 09:56 PM
Replies: 19
Last post by: watts on 10-30-2005 12:33 AM
Capt Fiero

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 260
Rate this member

Report this Post10-06-2005 09:56 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Capt FieroClick Here to visit Capt Fiero's HomePageSend a Private Message to Capt FieroDirect Link to This Post
I have been chasing my tail for 2 months on my 4.9 Elderado motor in my Fiero, it is the late model 4.9 that uses the dual O2 sensors. Running really rich and getting horrid gas mileage around 10mpg in town. To drive from Surrey to Van and back cost me $25 in gas. About 2 months ago I installed 2 brand new NTK O2 sensors. I notice on the scan tool that the O2 voltage is at a constant 444mv I talk to a couple of people and no one seems to really have any idea and one person said "that is just the way they are" so I left that alone, after all they were brand new O2 sensors. So I went on trying to find out why the dang thing ran so rich all the time. Car was so rich that it would burn your eyes at idle.

So today I bought 2 Genuine Delco O2 Sensors.( AFS23 ) I installed one and left the NTK in the other bank. I fired up the car and checked the scan tool. Sure as crap, the NTK stays at 444mv while the new GM one was constantly moving from 84mv all the way to 900mv so rapidly that the Dash mounted scanner could not keep up.