Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions - Archive
  painting - take body panels off, or leave on ?

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version

painting - take body panels off, or leave on ? by D B Cooper
Started on: 07-17-2005 10:06 PM
Replies: 24
Last post by: countach711 on 07-19-2005 11:45 AM
D B Cooper

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 55
Rate this member

Report this Post07-17-2005 10:06 PM Click Here to See the Profile for D B CooperSend a Private Message to D B CooperDirect Link to This Post
I'm a noob here although I've owned various fieros over the last 13 years. Let me just say it's really cool that there are lots of Fieroheads out there.
Anyway, I'm getting ready to paint my '86 GT a metallic pearl gold just a touch darker than the original color. What do you guys think of leaving all the body parts in place ? Should I at least pull the bottom door trim ?
Related question; I recently replaced the rear lower panels with scooped ones to get qa little more air into that engine compartment... Any recommendations on replacing those nylon rivets ? I do like how easy they come out and would like to find something similar if not identical to hold all that together. Checked autozone, but ended up mostly just reusing the old rivets for right now.
Last thing; Should I change out the stock air cleaner to avoid that scoop ramming rain into the air intake ? or am I being paranoid ?
thanks,

D.B.Cooper

[This message has been edited by D B Cooper (edited 07-17-2005).]

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Firefox

Leave feedback

Total ratings: 240
Rate this member

Report this Post07-17-2005 10:17 PM Click Here to See the Profile for FirefoxSend a Private Message to FirefoxDirect Link to This Post
Welcome to the forum.