Removing the rear clip by Dave E Bouy
Started on: 11-16-2004 08:35 PM
Replies: 9
Last post by: Dave E Bouy on 11-26-2004 10:46 PM
Dave E Bouy

Feedback score:    (6)
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-16-2004 08:35 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Dave E BouySend a Private Message to Dave E BouyDirect Link to This Post
Hi everyone:

Well the cooler weather is here and I finally got my 84 SE inside to begin a ground up restoration and already I'm stuck!
I have a ton of metal work to do on the space frame and I'm looking for some step by step instructions for removing the rear clip. My Haynes covers the removal of all the body panels except the clip. I discovered that somebody upstairs must like me when I found out my neighbour is a welder by trade and juuuuuuuuust happens to have a MIG welder right next door. How good is that?
Anyway thanx for any info at all.

DeB

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
shawnkfl

Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 72
Rate this member

Report this Post11-16-2004 09:05 PM Click Here to See the Profile for shawnkflSend a Private Message to shawnkflDirect Link to This Post
i just took my GT body off last week. should be similar. there are three bolts inside, under the head liner. there are, i think eight along the rear, below where the taillights sit. you need to disconnect the fuel filler neck from the clip. (there were three little screws holding mine) then i had to remove the inner 1/4 window trims. after that there were four more screw holding each side. removed the plastic rivets holding the wheel well in and slowly pried it off. there is a strip of that nasty black stuff under it holding it to the roof. took me about two hours not knowing what i was doing. i just kept finding bolts and pulling it up until i had them all removed. hopefully someone who's done this a few times will chime and help out.
4BanGinFun

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member