Pennock's Fiero Forum
  Technical Discussion & Questions - Archive
  Mmmmm... mystery wires... plus whats this?

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Email This Page to Someone! | Printable Version


Mmmmm... mystery wires... plus whats this? by headhunter
Started on: 02-28-2004 04:48 PM
Replies: 9
Last post by: JazzMan on 02-29-2004 05:03 PM
headhunter
Member
Posts: 400
From: waterloo, on, ca
Registered: Sep 2002


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-28-2004 04:48 PM Click Here to See the Profile for headhunterClick Here to Email headhunterSend a Private Message to headhunterDirect Link to This Post
Ok, I remember breaking the piece that these 2 wires were in... but can't remember where they went or what they connected too(can only reach so far as it is anyways...)...

the one wire is green with yellow stripe... the other is just green.

this other picture...

What is this piece, whats it doing?? (am aware guy who owned motor before did play with the wires...)

IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
BtotheB
Member
Posts: 2579
From: Peterborough, Ontario
Registered: Dec 2001


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 77
Rate this member

Report this Post02-28-2004 04:54 PM Click Here to See the Profile for BtotheBClick Here to visit BtotheB's HomePageClick Here to Email BtotheBSend a Private Message to BtotheBDirect Link to This Post
First picture, can't remember off the top of my head where thats supposed to go. Is anything not working?

Second picture, thats your tach filter.

Brad

------------------
'85 SE V6, undergoing GT conversion!

IP: Logged
spark1
Member
Posts: 11159
From: Benton County, OR
Registered: Dec 2002


Feedback score: (1)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 175
Rate this member

Report this Post02-28-2004 04:59 PM Click Here to See the Profile for spark1Send a Private Message to spark1Direct Link to This Post
See: http://www.fiero.nl/forum/Forum2/HTML/044659.html

The JazzMan picture shows both items. The wires go to the temperature gauge/warning light sender.

IP: Logged
Gary W
Member
Posts: 1091
From: Cape Coral, FL
Registered: Oct 2001


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-28-2004 04:59 PM Click Here to See the Profile for Gary WClick Here to Email Gary WSend a Private Message to Gary WDirect Link to This Post
The top picture looks like what's left of your temp sender harness. Does the temperature gauge work?
The sender is in the corner of the rear head, right below where your hand is.
IP: Logged
headhunter
Member
Posts: 400
From: waterloo, on, ca
Registered: Sep 2002


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-28-2004 06:07 PM Click Here to See the Profile for headhunterClick Here to Email headhunterSend a Private Message to headhunterDirect Link to This Post
just finishing off the 3.1, judging from the above link, this would be an oil temp gauge...

The 3.1 doesn't have that sensor... just a bolt to fill it in... and the other block is gone so will need to find another.

thnks for help.

IP: Logged
chameleogaz
Member
Posts: 224
From: Ohio
Registered: Aug 2003


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-29-2004 12:14 AM Click Here to See the Profile for chameleogazClick Here to Email chameleogazSend a Private Message to chameleogazDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by headhunter:

just finishing off the 3.1, judging from the above link, this would be an oil temp gauge...

The 3.1 doesn't have that sensor... just a bolt to fill it in... and the other block is gone so will need to find another.

thnks for help.

The 3.1 just has that sensor in a different location. My 3.1 is the same way. It is the coolant temp gauge sender, on that engine, it screws into a hole in the heads on the oposite corner: the firewall/water pump corner. Over the summer when installing my 3.1L, I had to modify the wiring harnes and the coolant crossover pipe so that the sensor could be plugged in. I've been meaning to take a picture of that bolt near the tach filter and see if anyone knows how to remove it and plug up the other hole, so I could relocate the temp gauge sender in the proper location.

If you need any further clarification or help on this, just let me know via PM or email.

-Jeff

PS- the second picture is the tach filter, it bolts on right underneeth the ignition coil. I have a feeling jazzman or someone else would have a picture of how it's supposed to be hooked up. If you can't find one, I'll look around for something to help you out.

IP: Logged
headhunter
Member
Posts: 400
From: waterloo, on, ca
Registered: Sep 2002


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-29-2004 11:04 AM Click Here to See the Profile for headhunterClick Here to Email headhunterSend a Private Message to headhunterDirect Link to This Post
Will take a look on opposite corner, would be nice to luck out and just extend the wires. Thanks for the tip.
IP: Logged
JazzMan
Member
Posts: 18612
From:
Registered: Mar 2003


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 653
User Banned

Report this Post02-29-2004 01:08 PM Click Here to See the Profile for JazzManClick Here to Email JazzManSend a Private Message to JazzManDirect Link to This Post
Both of the heads have the same drilled and tapped hole in the same corner, one head gets a pipe plug and the other head gets the sender. You can just swap the sender and plug and not have to modify the harness.
The tach filter mounting tab goes under one of the coil bracket mounting bolts into the head.

JazzMan

[This message has been edited by JazzMan (edited 02-29-2004).]

IP: Logged
chameleogaz
Member
Posts: 224
From: Ohio
Registered: Aug 2003


Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post02-29-2004 04:26 PM Click Here to See the Profile for chameleogazClick Here to Email chameleogazSend a Private Message to chameleogazDirect Link to This Post
 
quote
Originally posted by JazzMan:

Both of the heads have the same drilled and tapped hole in the same corner, one head gets a pipe plug and the other head gets the sender. You can just swap the sender and plug and not have to modify the harness.

JazzMan

This may be a stupid question, but how do you remove the plug? It has a squarish indentation on it that is just barely too large for a 3/8" ratchet extension bar to engage. Is there a special tool needed to remove it?

Thanks!

-Jeff

IP: Logged
JazzMan
Member
Posts: 18612
From:
Registered: Mar 2003


Feedback score:    (7)
Leave feedback





Total ratings: 653
User Banned

Report this Post02-29-2004 05:03 PM Click Here to See the Profile for JazzManClick Here to Email JazzManSend a Private Message to JazzManDirect Link to This Post
It's a square drive, you'll need to get a square drive bit for it. I think that Sears carries these, or you might check out an engine rebuilder in your area.

JazzMan

IP: Logged



All times are ET (US)

T H I S   I S   A N   A R C H I V E D   T O P I C
  

Contact Us | Back To Main Page

Advertizing on PFF | Fiero Parts Vendors
PFF Merchandise | Fiero Gallery | Ogre's Cave
Real-Time Chat | Fiero Related Auctions on eBay



Copyright (c) 1999, C. Pennock